FAQ AKA WTF IS TSP DIY?

TL;DR
TSP DIY is a global, decentralized event from The Speed Project. Starting at 4AM PDT on September 5, 2020, teams* will have 31 hours and 15 minutes (the standing TSP record) to run as many kilometers as they can, relay-style. Teams* choose their own routes, and members can run legs from anywhere in the world.

The TSP DIY experience will include a starter kit for each team*, containing elements of an at-home journey leading up to, during, and after the race. A live, global leaderboard and TSP-style story coverage will run throughout the event.

OK. WTF IS “TSP DIY”?
TSP DIY is a decentralized event, taking the ethos of The Speed Project to the extreme. Rather than choosing their own route from LA to Vegas, each team* chooses their own route or location, anywhere in the world.

UMM. THERE’S A GLOBAL PANDEMIC GOING ON, YOU EVER THINK OF THAT?

That’s why TSP DIY is decentralized - we want every runner in the world to be able to participate without barriers of travel or location restrictions. We ask all teams* to follow local protocol for their runs, any gatherings, and celebrations.

HOW DO I WIN?
Teams* will have 31 hours, 15 minutes (the standing LALV record) to run as many kilometers as they can, relay-style (or as a solo runner). When the clock hits 31:15, the team* with the most miles wins #TSPDIY.

Our competitive categories are: Solo, OG Team (2 women, 4 men), Women’s Team (6 women), and Freestyle (as many runners as you like). 

WHAT IS “RELAY-STYLE”?
Just like TSP, no two runners on a team run at the same time. Come on, you know what a relay is.

*WHAT’S WITH THE ASTERISK?
TSP DIY is the official launch of the solo runner experience, so when we say “teams,” we may mean “teams or solo runners.”

HOW ARE YOU TRACKING THE KILOMETERS?
Or miles, depending on where you’re from? We’re working with a timing/tracking partner to make sure every step is logged and that our leaderboard shows live updates throughout the 31:15 of the race. Time and distance are logged via each athlete's own personal tracking watch or device.

DOES MY TEAM HAVE TO BE IN THE SAME CITY?
No. Have you been paying attention? Different team members can be in as many places in the world as they’d like. It’s a decentralized event.

WHATEVER. HOW MUCH DOES THIS COST
Registration is $55+shipping per runner. We can’t wait to show you what the shipping cost is for. We will say that we have a dope experience planned for every runner leading up to the start of TSP DIY, including a training plan, the Starter Kit (available to teams registered before the July 20th Starter Kit deadline), and more.

WHAT’S IN THE STARTER KIT?
Wait and see.

DO YOU NEED MY T-SHIRT SIZE?
No. Sit down.

KK. WHEN IS TSP DIY?
TSP DIY begins at 4AM PDT / 7AM EDT / 1PM CET on Saturday, September 5th, 2020, ending at 11:15AM PDT / 2:15PM EDT / 8:15PM CET on Sunday, September 6th, 2020, at which point the decentralized pool parties can begin.

HOLD UP. YOU SAID “POOL PARTIES.”
We did. Become a TSP DIY MAKER: a captain who hosts your own event for your crew, community, or region, setting your own route, race, course, competition, and celebrations within TSP DIY’s 31h15m. We’ll get you what you need, you make it happen the way you want, on your home turf. DM @thespeedproject on Instagram to become a MAKER.

I HEARD THERE WAS A CHARITY COMPONENT TO TSP DIY?
You’re right. We’re working on rolling out a fundraising tool for teams to support causes aligned with TSP’s values, as well as merchandise that will benefit organizations in the fight for racial justice and equity.

LFG. HOW’S THIS WORK? 
Create your team, have the team captain register as soon as possible, and get after it.

I HAVE A QUESTION.
Really? Wow. Fine, send us an email.